STAFF MEMBERS

Andy and Crystal Young

Andy and Crystal Young

Andy and Crystal have been on staff with Cru since 2006 and have led Cru’s campus ministry in Philadelphia since 2009. Andy grew up in Pennsylvania and Crystal in Texas, but they met at a Cru meeting as undergrads at Penn State University. Andy serves as the City Director for the Philadelphia metro region which includes 37 campuses within 15 miles of center city. These campuses are home to nearly 300,000 undergrads, grad students, and faculty. Andy is ordained as an elder in the Presbyterian Church of America (PCA) and also serves as chaplain for the Philadelphia Union in Major League Soccer. Andy and Crystal have three children: Hudson (11), Avery (10), and Laurel (7), as well as a lovable Great Dane named Baron.

andy.young@cru.org

Hannah Gajari

Hannah Gajari

Born and raised in farm country, Hannah came to love the city of Philadelphia as a student at Penn. This is her sixth year on Cru staff and her first year as a co-city director with Andy. She loves trivia, linguistics, and musicals.

hannah.gajari@cru.org

Evan and Kathleen

Kathleen and Evan Chappell

Kathleen and Evan are newlyweds and come from their beloved commonwealth of Virginia. Kathleen is a Communication studies graduate from Christopher Newport University, a small liberal arts school in VA. She served as an intern with Cru in Richmond, VA for the past two years and joined the Philly team as a part-time staff member.

Evan is an Engineering graduate from the University of Virginia and served the past two years as an intern with Cru for the Central Virginia team. Kathleen and Evan met while on staff and enjoy bench sitting, eating beef noodle soup, exploring new places, eating fries, and drinking Orangina.

Kathleen.Chappell@cru.org Evan.Chappell@cru.org

Addison and Emily Frank

Addison and Emily Frank

Addison and Emily met on staff with Cru and got married in January 2019. Addison grew up in Bucks County Pennsylvania and graduated from Penn State University with an Engineering degree. Since graduating, Addison has been working for Cru, most recently in Washington D.C. He loves reading and learning, thinking, playing sports, and watching B-rated horror films.

Emily grew up in King of Prussia and graduated from Gordon College in Graphic Design. Emily is a graphic designer for Cru and works one day a week with Philly Cru. She loves dancing ballet, llamas and gnomes, making and admiring art, and most of all, donuts. Lots of donuts.

Addison.Frank@cru.org Emily.Frank@cru.org

Desmin Peifer

Desmin Peifer

Desmin has served with Philly Cru since 2017. He hails from Lancaster and graduated from West Chester University with a degree in music education. He has enjoyed seeing God work in the city and students alike and is excited for what the future holds! Des is always up for playing music, adventuring, sports, deep conversations, board games, and anything involving food. Go Birds!

desmin.peifer@cru.org

Hannah Sosin

Hannah Sosin

Hannah is a Pennsylvania native who had done life in Virginia for nine years before God called her and her husband Tim to be part of a church planting team headed for Philly. Hannah loves doing discipleship through her church plant Bedrock and the Cru movement, both of which are like being part of a big family. In Hannah’s world there is always a home improvement to do, a board game to play and a classic film to be watched.

hannah.sosin@cru.org

Caleb and Claire Bermudez

Caleb and Claire Bermudez

caleb.bermudez@cru.org claire.bermudez@cru.org

Caleb and Claire live in South Philly with their three kids – Lydia, Elena, and Aslan. Caleb is from South Jersey and a graduate of Rutgers University. Claire hails from West Virginia and is a WVU grad. They love to travel, learn about new cultures, and drink strong coffee. Their favorite city is Barcelona (and Philly).

Shiby George

Shiby George

Shiby is an affiliate staff with the South Asian American ethnic ministry of Cru called Design Movement. She grew up in Kerala (India), Kuwait, and later Michigan. She lives in North Wales currently where she works as a project engineer for Siemens. Shiby loves dogs, samosas, and bubble tea. Her favorite thing to do is spend quality time with friends over Bubble tea.  

shiby.george@cru.org

Amy Bogan

Amy Bogan

This is Amy’s first year Philly Cru. She made her way across the state, growing up in Pittsburgh and graduating from Penn State University before heading to Philly. Her heart for ministry toward women has grown over the years, stemming from other women pouring into her own life. She loves all things sports, running, and watching rerun episodes of Gilmore Girls.

amy.bogan@cru.org

Jessica Bost

Jess Bost

Originally from Massachusetts, Jess graduated from Baylor University in 2020 where she studied and grew in her passion for theology, ministry and missions, social justice, and Spanish. Always up for an adventure, Jess loves to play soccer and other sports, climb trees, hike, rock climb, have deep conversations, and share life stories (even better if coffee or food is involved). Go Pats!

jess.bost@cru.org

Greg

Greg Mitchell

Greg Mitchell serves with the graduate ministry of Cru at the University of Pennsylvania. Greg graduated from Virginia Tech with a bachelor’s in Industrial Design and a masters in Design Education. He is currently a full-time seminary student at Westminster Theological Seminary.

greg.mitchell@cru.org

Bill Zane

Bill Zane

Bill has been working with Cru for ten years now in a few roles, all based in the Philadelphia area.  His first introduction to Cru was as a sophomore at Penn State where God used his love of Penn State football to turn his life around.  He loves anything sports or involving the outdoors.  He and his wife Lisa live in the Fishtown neighborhood of Philadelphia and have four kids, Boden, Jack, Mila, and Fletcher.

Bill.Zane@cru.org